Skip to content

Gluten Free Pizza Crust

January 8, 2010

I found this recipe and adjusted it some, It called for Sorghum flour which I didn’t have and whole milk so I traded the sorghum with coconut flour and the whole milk with cream and water.  I have  not been  particularly fond of the garbanzo bean flour in some other things but you can’t taste it in this recipe  i think I would maybe trade out for more coconut flour if I were to do it again b cause bean flour gives me gas. 

I haven’t done this recipe again since because I’ve been lazy so I have trying the prepackaged mixes.  The Namaste stuff is really intensely spiced.  I like to taste the pizza toppings not just the crust :-).  I tried another, I think arrowhead, that was a pain.  The last couple times I used the Bob’s red mill and it has worked well.  I cook it well done then I can freeze cooked pieces and reheat right out of the freezer for a quick meal without the crust being soggy.

This is a good recipe though I really liked it!

You can see how the dough is soft and has to be pressed  into the pan with wet hands

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ready to bake

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Baked lightly ready for toppings

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Topped and ready for second baking

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

All Done YUMMY

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pizza Crust

3/4 cup tapioca flour
1/2 cup white rice flour
1/3 cup garbanzo bean flour
1/3 cup coconut flour
1 teaspoon xanthum gum
1 teaspoon fine sea salt
1/4 cup cream 1/4 cup
1/4 cup plus 1 tsp. Warm water
2 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast
2 teaspoons raw sugar or dehydrated cane juice
2 large egg whites, lightly beaten
3 tablespoons plus 1 teaspoon extra-virgin olive oil

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees

Place all the dry ingredients in the mixing bowl.
Mix warm water, sugar and yeast let sit for a couple minutes then add cream egg whites and olive oil and mix well.

Add wet ingredients into dry ingredients

Transfer dough to a sweet rice sprinkled pan or olive oil greased (my personal preference) pan. Oil hands with olive oil and press dough (which is sticky ) into the pan.

Bake crust only for 10-14 minutes

Add desired toppings and return to the oven to bake until the cheese is a golden brown.

Makes 2 – 10 in crusts or 1 12 in inch thick crust

I made it in one 11X16 cookie sheet

Comments are closed.

